Talk in a Whisper or Reflected (B)light

Talk in a whisper in case they hear you,
I don’t want them to know that we,
Talk in a whisper in case they hear you,
I pretend I am anyone with you, so free,
Close your eyes and look with your heart,
Open the portal with your mind,
Close your eyes and look with your heart,
Empty sockets are not necessarily blind.

Talk in a whisper in case they hear you,
In your reflected light, I hide,
Talk in a whisper in case they hear you,
Never reveal the power you hold inside,
Close your eyes and look with your heart,
I long to enter that realm with you,
Dark torn asunder, light ripped apart,
Talk in a whisper in case they hear you.

Note: This was a submission for a competition run by Carillon magazine (which I did not win but believe I must have been close and probably one of the ‘runners-up’ as the editor, Graham Rippon, printed his commiserations, mentioning me in the comment). The competition was to write a two stanza poem interpreting the theme of Mirrors/Reflections with the second stanza forming the reflection.
My poem was intended as an allegorical discussion with a twist, the second stanza is the mirror talking to a skeleton (a light striking the bleached skull and blinding the reflection). The first stanza then revealed as the corpse’s observation as imagined by the mirror, remembering the way that its playmate would pretend in the past (before he or she died – alone with the exception of the mirror and their alter-egos therein).
It was intended to expose the mirror as a sentient being that lures us to its presence through our vanity and imagination and show the looking glass as a sad, lonely and demented entity, longing, in its madness; to join its former companion in death.
None of this was revealed to the editor, Graham (who is a very kind and considerate man that I applaud for his ability to manage an overwhelming delivery of submissions and do not envy his job of judging the quality of such pieces and their suitability for his publication as there are a great many talented writers who respond to Carillon regularly) as I am a firm believer that the reader should be able to enjoy and interpret poetry as they see fit (much in the way that I am not keen on movies made of incredible books as they spoil the imagery I had envisioned when reading). I can see why few people would see my vision identically as it is a strange and specific notion, one that is not entirely clear as it appears (without the explanation) that someone is talking to the mirror throughout the poem and, indeed; readers may not even see that imagery if they did not know the context for which the poem was written (because without the competition requirements detailed, the poem may seem utter gibberish!).
I hope that you had your own view of what the piece was trying to say and that my idea has not imposed on your vision or spoilt it completely (and, for my ego’s sake, I hope you recognise how clever I was trying to be, even if I failed!).
©Baldypoems2012

2 thoughts on “Talk in a Whisper or Reflected (B)light

  1. it IS clever and I think you pulled it off rather nicely

Leave a Reply

