Absent Father

I worry about the world,

Climate and finances,

I worry over your troubled heart,

And long gone, failed romances,

I worry that I will follow you,

Into madness and depression,

I worry what other people think,

My misconceived expression,

I worry about the ones I love,

And wonder if they worry about me,

My worries can be consuming,

And I worry constantly,

I worry about you being lonely,

I worry about you feeling blue,

I worry about your fear and panic,

I worry so much about you,

I worry that you worry,

I worry that you can not cope,

But worry not because I love you

And I love to give you HOPE.

 

 

 

 

 

©KieranDavis2013

©Baldypoems2013

 

Published in an anthology called ‘Seeds of Inspiration’

ISBN:978-0-85781-159-2

8 thoughts on “Absent Father

  1. Bastet says:

    moving and lovely.

  2. Cubby says:

    Very nice! I was worried about whether the poem would end happy or sad, but I’m so glad it ended on a positive note! 🙂

    • thank you, Cubby, always nice to hear from you, dear heart. Sorry for the long absence, I hope this finds you well. This has had a nice response and I am glad that people liked the happy ending to an otherwise sad and concerning piece. good stuff, i am most encouraged! Keep miling and keep writing, hugs from Baldy 🙂

  3. goldbot says:

    Very nice! I worry about the same things for my kids….and I don’t even have any yet! Was that for Father’s Day last Sunday?

    • it was for every father’s day, pal. Thanks for your kind words, I appreciate it. Sorry for the long absence, computer trouble driving me nuts! I’ll be over to your blog as soon as I can get all this sorted and grab some ‘me’ time to read. sincere best wishes from Baldy 🙂

  4. Shainbird says:

    Strong piece Baldy, I really love the title, it is powerful, worrying can bring about a mental absence in a relationship. I’m glad it ended with hope.

    • thank you, my friend, kind of you to say so. Yup, this was (clearly) a very personal piece about a man that I idolise who has lost his mind, it addresses my fears for all things (eroneous or not) and helped a great deal to put on paper. Poetry is often the best personal therapy I find, even writing a journal helps relieve stress and anxiety. I was fortunate that the words just fell on the page for this one and was pleasantly surprised by myself when it was finished, I am also glad it finished up with hope. Hope is a very important thing, I wish I could bottle it and send it out to everyone to take a sip! Sorry for the long absence, pal (again!!!!) i’ll be over to your blog for a read soon, keep smiling and keep writing, best wishes from Baldy 🙂

Leave a Reply

