Criminal and When We Were Almost Young

mypoemsketch

 

Criminal

 

The way you look at me,

Seduces all that is immoral within me,

Your eyes hold the image of angels in flight, yet,

Your lips breathe the dance of dangerous devils.

And I want to hold you like I want to live,

Spirits bound through the catacombs of my mind,

My thoughts cringe before the wicked voices,

That scream your name in the valley of my conscience,

And carnivorous demons feast on my soul,

For what I am thinking I would like to do to you.

The way you make me feel is criminal.

 

 

When We Were almost Young

 

Do you recall our tree?  The Blanket and the bed made of hay?

The special feeling we thought was love, the others thought it play,

Do you remember our walks up the railway track, always hand in hand?

Our elders thought us silly, they could never understand,

How we felt that summer, when we pretty much lived at the lake,

Such an amazing season, I made only one mistake,

And that was to let you go that winter, oh! How my heart was stung!

It is still strange that we felt so much, when we were almost young.

 

And now the years and miles are between us, I still think of you,

Wondering where you are, how you are doing, are you thinking of me too?

Do you recall the poetry and the letters?  The time we spent in bed?

Just listening to music, one look, one touch and everything was said,

The days that went on forever, the nights gone in a blink,

I remember you smiling always (and that mischievous little wink),

Do you remember the laughter, how we always had so much fun?

I miss your company and your kisses and when we were almost young.

 

2 thoughts on “Criminal and When We Were Almost Young

  1. Deborah says:

    Wow! Criminal is almost . . . . . criminal! LOVE IT!

  2. Shainbird says:

    A beautiful and bittersweet piece, nice Baldy!

Leave a Reply

