We Regret

We dislike all that we are not,

fear everything we are and that

which we do not understand

(especially anything different from

what we deem – urgh – ‘normal’),

we hate ourselves for aging and/

or becoming weak, stressed of

heart, or worse – of mind…

We find our vainglorious past,

pulling faces from a misperceived

image in the looking glass,

a poor projection, false reflection,

our tired eyes misconceive

a god-like imagining, that,

flawless forgery we are so

desperate to forget but cannot

banish before we vanish and

it spits on our grave; we regret.

 

5 thoughts on “We Regret

  1. Which begs the age-old question, do we regret that which we do or that which we failed to do? Either way, a worthy reflection.

  2. A thought-provoking reflection about aging that brought to mind a poem that I can relate to now. I couldn’t resist sharing an excerpt –

    This Will Shock You!
    (Anonymous)
    ….
    Everything is farther away now than it used to be.
    It is twice as far to the corner, and they have added a hill I’ve noticed.
    I have given up running for the bus; it leaves faster than it used to.
    And it seems to me that they are making stairs steeper than in the old days.
    Have you noticed the smaller print they are using in the newspapers now?
    And there is no sense asking people to read aloud.
    Everyone speaks in such a low voice I can hardly hear them.


    Even people are changing.
    They are much younger than they used to be when I was their age.
    On the other hand, people my age are so much older than I am.
    I ran into a classmate the other day, and she had aged so much I didn’t even recognize her.

    I got to thinking about the poor thing while I was combing my hair this morning
    And in so doing I glanced at my reflection in the mirror.
    You know, they don’t even make mirrors like they used to.

Leave a Reply

