Undusted Trust (For T.J. Therien)

This Frankenstein of flesh

Stitched together back from death

‘The Headless Children’ lyrics by Blackie Lawless

 

A memory, dimly recalled,

has the sense of something

hollow, an echo of a dream,

that non-linear moment upon

waking, when the world,

trusted to the night’s safe-keeping,

has broken the spell

but kept the secret.

 

A requiem reaches

the dishevelled heavens,

engineered by an arcane art

and furnished with

the frustration of a Phoenix,

bound to a Prime-Material plane

by a prophet who will not relinquish

the ashes of their religion.

 

 

Dedicated to T.J. Therien, a dedicated poet and novelist.  Tim’s mythology and stark poetry is superb, I am blessed to call him my friend.  We celebrate National Poetry today, I aim to do so by honouring some of the talented poets who have given me so much to celebrate.

4 thoughts on “Undusted Trust (For T.J. Therien)

  1. tjtherien says:

    Thank you, I am truly honored and I am lucky to be able to call you friend.

  2. I’ve been a fan of his gritty honesty for some time.

    • Indeed. I often quote something Tim once said to me: ‘Learn all the forms. Practice, practice, practice. Then forget all that s*** and write poetry.’ Looking forward to his new collection ‘When Gods Turn to Myth’. Thanks for your kind words lately, Mr Leznzi. Your encouragement means a lot to me, sir.

Leave a Reply

