Pretending

I am the smoke and rain,

made mortal, flesh

and whispers – breathed

into existence.

I am ephemeral,

the ghost of a kiss,

someone you lost

a life-time ago.

I am forgotten, all the thoughts

you should have written down,

all the promises you made

when pretending.

I am the smoke and rain,

the private joke, made public,

a subject for the fain.

I saw the sex of subjugation,

the personification of pain,

I have become what we became,

I am the smoke and rain.

I am the smoke and rain.

Leave a Reply

