Please (Written for Nina Lewis)

Please,

don’t censor that beautiful smile,

why mar that moment-meant mouth

with lippy?

You grip me,

when that smile comes from your eyes,

I cannot disguise my delight

when you appear without the mask,

the unnecessary makeup

that breaks up

the raw honesty of your performance.

Please,

don’t censor that beautiful smile,

your eyelashes laugh easily,

your moment-meant mouth

pauses

for poetry,

a momentary stall,

I catch my breath, suddenly realising,

I had not exhaled in a while.

Please,

don’t censor that beautiful smile.

 

 

Written for Nina Lewis (Worcestershire Poet Laureate 2017).  This true sentiment applies to everyone.  You are ALL beautiful the way you are.

Leave a Reply

